Debate: Regulating Capitalism: Moral Necessity or Moral Treason?

Yaron Brook, President of the Ayn Rand Center for Individual Rights
Dane Smith, President of Growth and Justice

Lecture: The Revolutionary Case for Capitalism

Eric Daniels, Research Professor at the Clemson Institute for the Study of Capitalism

Q&A: Can the Entitlement State Survive? And Should It?

Don Watkins, Analyst at The Ayn Rand Center for Individual Rights

The Financial Crisis: Causes, Consequences and Cures

John Allison, Former Chairman and CEO, BB&T Corporation

The Financial Crisis: Causes, Consequences and Cures

John Allison, Former Chairman and CEO, BB&T Corporation

The cause of the recent financial crisis and subsequent economic downturn has been hotly debated over the last few years. The media, politicians, and even many businessmen have placed the blame on the supposed excesses of free-market capitalism. In this lecture, John Allison, former Chairman and CEO of BB&T, argues that this crisis is in fact a legacy of government's anti-capitalist policies.

Mr. Allison presents his unique perspective of the financial services industry to support his argument that massive government intervention into the U.S. economy.from the creation of the Federal Reserve in 1913 to a reckless crusade to encourage home-ownership—laid the groundwork for an unsustainable real estate boom. He offers his views on what contributed to the financial crisis and how the government's response to the inevitable bust—a frenzied series of bailouts, nationalizations, and "stimulus" efforts—is only making things worse.

Finally, Mr. Allison discusses some of his proposed immediate and long-term solutions for moving us towards a stronger economy. Mr. Allison will demonstrate that capitalism, far from being the cause of our financial troubles, is its only cure.

Tuesday, October 4th
5:00 PM Pacific, 6:00 PM Mountain, 7:00 PM Central, 8:00 PM Eastern
North Carolina State University and live streamed online worldwide


Q&A: Can the Entitlement State Survive? And Should It?

Don Watkins, Analyst at The Ayn Rand Center for Individual Rights

It's an open secret that America is headed for an entitlement crisis, with the U.S. government facing over $100 trillion in unfunded liabilities. Something is going to have to be done, but what? Some propose raising taxes. Others propose cutting benefits. Many propose a mix of both.

The Ayn Rand Center for Individual Rights' Don Watkins will explain why he thinks these solutions are hopeless. He will argue that eliminating the entitlement state will actually create a freer, more just, more prosperous nation. A brief lecture will be followed by an extended question and answer period: we invite you to come ask your questions concerning the history, the economics, or the morality of the entitlement state.

Thursday, September 29th
6:00 PM Pacific, 7:00 PM Mountain, 8:00 PM Central, 9:00 PM Eastern
University of California, Irvine and live streamed online worldwide


Lecture: The Revolutionary Case for Capitalism

Eric Daniels, Research Professor at the Clemson Institute for the Study of Capitalism

Despite capitalism's enormous success in producing material abundance and political freedom, it faces a crisis—one that may lead to its demise. Capitalism is perishing because its supposed defenders lack a real defense.

In this lecture, Eric Daniels explores the most common arguments in favor of capitalism. He finds that they all break down in the face of the popular argument that capitalism is immoral and destructive.because it is selfish. Dr. Daniels explains that only Ayn Rand's crucial insight—that capitalism is the only moral social system because it is based on "the virtue of selfishness"—can truly defend capitalism. He illustrates the need for a moral, and not just an economic, defense of capitalism.

Wednesday, September 28th
5:30 PM Pacific, 6:30 PM Mountain 7:30 PM Central, 8:30 PM Eastern
University of Wisconsin, Madison and live streamed online worldwide



Debate: Regulating Capitalism: Moral Necessity or Moral Treason?

Yaron Brook, President of the Ayn Rand Center for Individual Rights
Dane Smith, President of Growth and Justice

The recent economic downturn has led to much cultural debate about the proper role of capitalism. Should we allow a concentration of wealth in the hands of the few or redistribute it so everyone gets an 'equal' share? Is capitalism to blame for our current troubles, or is it government intervention? Join Yaron Brook and Dane Smith as they debate the the proper implementation of capitalism in society, including the moral implications and the role of government.

Tuesday, September 27th
5:30 PM Pacific, 6:30 PM Mountain 7:30 PM Central, 8:30 PM Eastern
University of Minnesota, Twin-Cities and live streamed online worldwide

America faces great challenges.

The economy is stalled, with unemployment at record highs.
Our health care system is broken, with ever-higher costs but little increase in benefits.
Social Security is in danger of going bankrupt.
The federal debt-to-GDP ratio is at its highest in over 50 years, with no end to the deficits in sight.
People are starting to question their futures—from the job market to the quality of medical care to the security of their retirement.

In response to every challenge, our leaders have expanded the size and scope of government.

When there is a financial crisis, they regulate the banks.
When medical costs are rising, they regulate medicine.
When the economy is stalling, they enact a "stimulus package" of government spending.
All the while, they increase entitlements—from Social Security to Medicare/Medicaid to unemployment benefits.

What does America need?

More regulation or less?
Stimulus or spending cuts?
Socialized medicine or freedom in medicine?

What kind of country do we want to be? One that values individual achievement, or service to others? A nation of mutual self-interest, or of shared sacrifice? Our economic future, and the moral soul of our country, is at stake.

In this battle, the entitlement-regulatory state has many supporters.

But the system of individual rights, limited government and free markets—in a word, capitalism—is misunderstood and maligned. It is blamed for every problem from banking to health care. It is confused with cronyism or even anarchism. It is denounced as greedy, cruel, and heartless. Even some of its most prominent defenders apologize for it as an imperfect compromise.

Capitalism Awareness Week, Sep 27—Oct 4, is a series of free lectures, debates, and Q&A, held on campuses across the country and broadcast live online. These events will present a historical, economic, and philosophical case for capitalism as the ideal social system. They will answer: What is capitalism? Does it work? And, most importantly, is it moral?

At Capitalism Awareness Week, you'll learn:

That capitalism is the system of liberty and of individual rights,
Why capitalism is the solution to America's current problems,
How capitalism gives every individual the best chance to pursue his dreams and achieve his happiness.

If you want to hear radical new solutions to today's problems, attend Capitalism Awareness Week.